Stream: rust-survey-2020

Topic: Survey for review


Jasun Carr (Nov 19 2019 at 20:02, on Zulip):

Here's a link to a copy of the survey. Please feel free to review the questions, and suggest edits/additions:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1fdGEynIzEUtr5JSbxw_V6g9AaIW32yHD1qNCxJaIniI/edit?usp=sharing

Sunjay Varma (Nov 19 2019 at 20:02, on Zulip):

Is this meant to be world editable?

Sunjay Varma (Nov 19 2019 at 20:02, on Zulip):

(I can edit it and I don't know if that's on purpose)

Jasun Carr (Nov 19 2019 at 20:03, on Zulip):

Yes - we have a master copy, and only those with the link can edit the one that's shared.
We'll compare the shared one to the master for making determinations of edits.

Sunjay Varma (Nov 19 2019 at 20:04, on Zulip):

Great - just wanted to be sure :smile:

nikomatsakis (Nov 19 2019 at 20:04, on Zulip):

Unfortunately, @Sunjay Varma, afaik you can't share a Google Form and have people peruse the overall structure without it being editable

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:08, on Zulip):

"How would you rate your Rust expertise?"

The answer choices to this seem to have little to do with expertise, i.e., I would not say I am "daily" experienced.

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:08, on Zulip):

Also for "How long have you been working with Rust?"

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:09, on Zulip):

and "If you summed the size of all Rust projects you work on, how big would it be?"

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:09, on Zulip):

and "How regularly do you work with Rust?"

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:09, on Zulip):

seems like something was shuffled

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:10, on Zulip):

"How would you rate the difficulty of learning these concepts/topics?"

I am not sure which concepts this is talking about

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:11, on Zulip):

This questions "If you indicated a desire for increased interoperability, which of the following languages would you want to use with Rust?" is duplicated in section 4 but not with equivalent responses

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:13, on Zulip):

"Do you currently use the 2015 or 2018 edition of Rust?"

Seems like we should ask "personally" or something -- I suspect I depend on 2015 code... not sure who to phrase this

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:15, on Zulip):

I would split "WebAssembly / asm.js" into two separate target platforms

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:18, on Zulip):

For "Using Rust at work" I would like to add something about "size of company" -- not sure if too late, otherwise number of people using Rust not too meaningful

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:19, on Zulip):

@nikomatsakis

simulacrum (Nov 19 2019 at 21:20, on Zulip):

cc @Jasun Carr

Laurențiu Nicola (Nov 19 2019 at 22:16, on Zulip):

"How would you rate the difficulty of learning these concepts/topics?"

I am not sure which concepts this is talking about

This one looks fine for me:

pasted image

Laurențiu Nicola (Nov 19 2019 at 22:19, on Zulip):

Ah, I see what you mean. Yeah, something looks wrong there

pnkfelix (Nov 20 2019 at 08:46, on Zulip):

(For the ratings, I personally would use scales from 1-5 rather than 1-10, because I personally find the additional fine-grainedness intimidating as a person filling out the survey. But if we used 1-10 in previous surveys, then never mind me.)

Jasun Carr (Nov 20 2019 at 17:10, on Zulip):

Ah, I see what you mean. Yeah, something looks wrong there

Yes, it looks like some edits were made to this version that swapped around questions & answers - the master copy is still ok though.
Making fixes to undo the damage - hopefully it's a one time thing and not ongoing maliciousness.

Jasun Carr (Nov 20 2019 at 17:16, on Zulip):

For "Using Rust at work" I would like to add something about "size of company" -- not sure if too late, otherwise number of people using Rust not too meaningful

Are we interested in size of Company, or number/size of programming team?

simulacrum (Nov 20 2019 at 17:19, on Zulip):

Either? Both? I think just a loose estimate is fine

simulacrum (Nov 20 2019 at 17:19, on Zulip):

like, I was thinking something like 1-100, 100-1000, 1k+ employees or something

Jasun Carr (Nov 20 2019 at 17:21, on Zulip):

I've added a rough version in - will take a look at some other workplace surveys for common size ranges (and possibly question wording) and adjust ours to match.

Jasun Carr (Nov 20 2019 at 22:10, on Zulip):

Question added with common ranges:
Screen-Shot-2019-11-20-at-3.07.43-PM.png

Jasun Carr (Nov 20 2019 at 22:18, on Zulip):

(For the ratings, I personally would use scales from 1-5 rather than 1-10, because I personally find the additional fine-grainedness intimidating as a person filling out the survey. But if we used 1-10 in previous surveys, then never mind me.)

Comparing back to the previous year, the questions that we have with 10-pt scales were 10-pt there (I generally agree with you - and I strongly prefer questions with an odd # of options so I can sit in the middle - but we'll have to leave these for comparison purposes)

Jasun Carr (Nov 21 2019 at 16:17, on Zulip):

Ok - shutting down the editable version of the survey - incorporated edits to the master as needed (and thanks all for those) and think this thing is locked.

Last update: Dec 12 2019 at 00:45UTC